Friday, January 30, 2009

Orientation

This is the beginning. First paid day. I had two interviews (yes, they make you attend two of them) with different managers, and I passed through them with flying colors. In the first interview, my interviewee pointed out that though I look very young, I sound quite mature. Little does she know I probably have more schooling than she does under my belt. Now I'm going to find out what working here is all about.

When I arrive they have me fill out all sorts of paperwork, signing each page of procedures to acknowledge that I understand and will comply. Then came an hour or so of watching training videos. Not the sort that tell you how perform in a position, but the sort that tell you the background of the company, and what working there is all about. All I could think about while watching the videos was "Branding." I know exactly what's going on here, the reason for making everyone familiar with this stuff, and it makes me quietly happy that I'm not just blindly watching some boring videos explaining the background and values of the company.

I meet a few of the team members. They all seem nice. I think one of them has already decided to hate me. I heard her complaining about 'all of the new hires,' while her hours 'continue to get cut back.' Later the manager explained to me that some people are getting their hours cut because they aren't exactly competent workers. Heh. Everyone working there seems to be either in high school or Mexican, with the exception of the managers and the one 60-something lady.

It was weird to walk behind the counters for the first time, through the hall of fryers and grills, past the cutting stations and past the drive-up window. Like some land that's always been forbidden, but I've suddenly gained a full-access green-card to. "Behind the scenes." Not just a field trip.

But that's what I'm all about! Infiltrating the stations. I start my first position on Monday. Apparently Spongebob's job as fry-cook is very complicated and important. They'll start me on "sandwich making." Wish me luck...

1 comment:

  1. oh yea good for you, if you ever get to the cage (or you know the window that gets to talk to the people in the drive-thru) i suggest taking orders in a heavy accent. They may not understand you otherwise.

    ReplyDelete